Balance The Chakras With These 7 Yoga Poses

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Yoga
  4. /
  5. Balance The Chakras With...
The Spiritual Power Of Chanting Gayatri Mantra (गायत्री मंत्र)

By Rishikul Yogshala

June 15, 2019

Chakras are the main energy centers in our body which run along the spine, and each chakra contributes to a part of our subtle body. Opening the chakra helps people to reach their highest potential, and yoga poses are a great way to release the stuck energy from the body. There are different postures to help activate the chakras in the human body. Read more to know more about chakras and the yoga poses.

To have a piece of knowledge about the chakras can make you feel more balanced and whole in many ways. Chakras can get stuck due to excess of stress, anxiety, conflicts, and it may be helpful to release the emotional events through movement. Yoga is a great way to release the blocked energy from the body, which further invites fresh, vital energy back in through the poses and the breath. But you don’t have to hit the gym or a yoga studio to work on balancing your chakras. There are some basic yoga poses, which you can do it at home to bring more harmony to your energetic body.

Get in touch with your chakras with some basic yoga postures to initiate more confidence, creativity, and joy in your life.

7 Yoga poses to Balance the Chakras

1. Boat Pose

Navasana or Boat pose is a seated pose. Located at the navel center, the Solar Plexus is the core of our personality, our ego, and our identity. When this chakra is blocked, it can lead to a lack of self-esteem and confidence. Begin with a seated pose with your knees bent and feet flat on the floor, hands resting beside your hips. Then lean back while keeping your spine straight and slowly lift your feet and extend your arm forward by bringing your chin parallel to the floor. Hold the pose for 20 to 30 seconds. Boat Pose is a great pose to help energize your core, and by activating this chakra, you will feel alive and have the self-esteem and confidence to take any action.

Read More:  The Health benefits of Navasana ( Boat Pose) 

2. Child Pose

This pose helps in activating the root chakra, which is located at the base of the spine. It binds us to the energy of the earth and makes us feel connected and safe. To begin with this exercise, sit on your knees, spread your knees apart while keeping your toes together. Sit with your spine straight, take a deep breath and on an exhalation, bow forward by laying your torso down between your thighs and your arms on the floor alongside your torso and release your shoulders toward the floor. It is a resting pose.

Read More:  Top 10 Health Benefits of Balasana (Child Pose) 

3. Sukhasana (the easy pose)

This pose helps in balancing your sixth chakra, the third eye chakra. The third eye chakra is connected with inner feelings, insight, and how we process that knowledge in our life. When the chakra is blocked, we tend to doubt ourselves and distrust in life. To continue, sit with your spine straight and legs crossed while resting the hands on the knees, palms face down or up. Relax your shoulders to make space around the neck, close your eyes, and relax the eyelids. Bring your attention to the breath and focus on inhaling and exhaling process, while releasing all your tensions and anxieties. It helps you receive the insight that cannot be seen by ordinary senses.

Read More:   5 Incredible Health Benefits of Sukhasana (Easy Sitting Pose) 

4. Camel Pose

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra in the human body, which is linked with air. This chakra is related naturally to compassion and love, which helps in maintaining healthy relationships with the people, and it also heals the past wounds by reopening your heart. To start with the pose, sit on the knees with your legs hip-width apart while resting your hands on the back of your pelvis with your fingers pointing downward. Bend backward by gently lowering the head and neck while supporting your back with your hands resting on your hind foot. It is a great way to open up your heart chakra for giving and receiving love.

Read More:  Top 7 Health Benefits of Ustrasana (Camel Pose)

5. Cobra Pose or Baby Cobra Pose

There are many variations of the cobra pose, and all of them open up the front of the body, including the throat. The throat chakra is the fifth chakra in the human body. Beginners who are trying their hand for the first time should first go for the baby cobra pose. Begin by lying on your stomach with your arms resting on the mat next to your chest. As you inhale, lift the head and chest up off the mat. Hold this position for 20 – 30 seconds and always inhale while lifting yourself up.

6. Goddess Pose

The Swadhisthana chakra is situated in the lower abdomen of your body, which is related to human sexuality and desire for pleasure. To begin, stand with your feet wide apart while resting your hands on the sides. On exhalation, bend your knees directly over your toes and lower your hips into a squat position. Bring the palms together in front of the heart while making a Namaste gesture. Hold the pose for at least 1 minute as this pose can help you get in touch with your feminine side.

7. Corpse Pose

The crown chakra is the seventh chakra in the human body, which represents the spiritual connection. It awakens the mind to the level of experience where you can experience periods of beauty, peace, divinity, and more.To perform this exercise, you need to lie flat on your back, on a flat surface without using any cushion, and close your eyes. The next step is to relax your feet and knees by separating them from each other. Keep your arms alongside by keeping your palm open, facing upward. Continue to breathe gently and slowly while concentrating on each part of the body from head to your toes.

Read More:  Top 5 Health Benefits of Savasana (Corpse Pose) 

By practicing the given yoga poses, you can activate and energize all the seven chakras of your body, and also maintain a steady energy flow throughout the body which leads you to live a more peaceful and positive life.

You may also like